top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Not your Ordinary Dental Appointment ∣ Affinity Dental Clinics


We all know that, (yes!) probably you have a very busy schedule and find it too difficult to fit another appointment in to your hectic day (am I right?). Or this is just one of your "alibis", for you to have a valid excuse to not see and go to your dentist? As to why, a lot of individuals often go years without a visit to the dentist (because of the same exact reason). Or, whether it’s due to fear, lack of money or just because they think their teeth don’t have any problems. Whatever the reason might be, visiting the dentist twice a year will do you and your smile a world of good. Bare in mind, that your dentist plays a major role in maintaining your overall dental health. Therefore, keeping those regular 6-month visits is important in keeping your teeth and gums in tip top shape. In line with this, according to the Philippine Dental Health Association, it is highly recommended that you must see your dentist at least two times each year in order to maintain optimal health and hygiene for your teeth (so, what are you waiting for?).

Having to go to the dentist on a regular basis may not be for everyone (including me!). Simply, because I just couldn't find the perfect time (busy schedule of mine, is to blame here). But, of course I know that it's not a good reason to neglect my oral health. That is why, up until last week (October 22, 2017). Where I had gathered all my courage, strength, will-power (haha) and time to set my dental appointment. At this point in time, I really have to (yep!). No more excuses or whatsoever for me. You read that right! Simply, because I really had to have my wisdom tooth extracted (PRONTO!). I have no choice. Since, the pain is seriously bugging me already.

The basic questions that some of you may want to know, before we even start this is to: Why do we need to take our wisdom tooth out? Do we really have to? What are the things we should/shouldn't do before and after the surgery? How much will it cost you for this procedure to be done? Let me start by answering the first question, shall we?

It is your dentist not you who'll say that it’s time to remove your wisdom teeth. And, this will only be possible if you visit them regularly. Moreover, wisdom teeth are a third set of molars in the back of your mouth. They usually come in between the ages of 17 and 25, and they're usually spotted on X-rays. People have them removed for one of these reason: it's either they are impacted (like in my case), They come in at a wrong angle, and/or you have cavities or gum disease that might build up to your wisdom tooth. And, yes you really have to have your wisdom teeth extracted before they become a problem and to avoid a more complicated surgery. It is for your own good, sweethearts. Trust me!

Third, the things we should/shouldn't do before and after your scheduled appointment: What I did was, I asked my friends first for some advice/tips who already underwent on this kind of procedure for the things that I should prepare before and after the surgery.

And, to sum their tips and advices all up. They said that I must be readily available physically (of course), spiritually and emotionally for this one. That I have to commit 100 percent of my time and post care, for it to be healed right away. I have to give myself at least a week of good rest with no any physical and extraneous activities, that might result in losing the blood clot from the socket. I mustn't drink with a straw for at least a week because the sucking action can also dislodge the blood clot from the socket. I should eat only soft foods, such as yogurt or applesauce, for a couple of days. And, that I should avoid hard, chewy, hot or spicy foods that might get stuck in the socket or irritate the wound.

Roughly, for this procedure. It will cost you around 13-15k pesos, that is still depending on the severity of your case.

All thanks to Affinity Dental Clinic-Alabang for making everything happen. My experience with them is beyond words. Beyond this write-up of mine. I know that this will never be enough to express my gratitude towards the whole team who took care of me for the whole process. The procedure, went smoothly. Because, Affinity Dental Clinics has an army of highly professional and top caliber dental experts that will accommodate to your oral and dental needs. They have five branches that is strategically located in Alabang, Bonifacio Global City, Makati, Cebu and Bacolod. But, I prefer trying out their new branch that is located in Westgate, Alabang. For the reason, because the clinic is designed to serve "south people" like me. This said branch caters to those who live in the cities of Muntinlupa, Paranaque, Las Pinas and even the provinces of Laguna and Cavite.

At Affinity Dental Clinic-Alabang branch, you'll always be in good hands. With having the state-of-the-art facilities and equipments, for sure your teeth would definitely would want to be taken care of here. Furthermore, they have been regarded as the cleanest, best, and has the most beautiful ambience/interiors for a dental clinic.

From the minute I walked through the doors, of the said place. I quickly noticed, the elegance and sophisticated receiving area that they have. It's very welcoming, that all my fears and worries went down my throat (haha). But, at the same time still have this physical professional appearance in order to instill confidence and professionalism towards their patients.

What a better way to do there as I wait for the staff in charge to hand me over the form that needs to be filled (since it's my first time there). Is to... sit pretty and take some pictures of none other than myself (*wink).

After, I have filled and submitted the necessary forms back. They have assisted me to meet my oral surgeon (Finally! The short wait is over).

In there, I met Dra. Carla Dimacuha to talk about the whole process. Clearly, she explained to me everything what I need to know. Dra. Carla, educated me on her diagnosis, treatment, preventative care and post care of the surgery. Being able to explain technical information in an easy to understand manner is a "thumbs up" for me. I know that I'll be safe in her hands, because she has good qualities of a dentist that I've been searching for. Moreover, what I really like about her is that she has this, compassionate attitude that helped me feel at ease and more comfortable with my surroundings right away.

If I can remember, when Dra. Carla asked me when was the last time I had my teeth checked nor cleaned. My proud answer right away was (using my high pitch tone of voice), just last year doctor. And, she looked at me straight in the eyes, smiled and said (OK!? We need to clean your teeth first before everything else).

As she has built her rapport towards me and to make my stay even worthwhile, she then lets me browse some movies/series from Netflix (YAAS! they have a television with Netflix in it). Isn't that awesome? I'm much more relaxed now.

Therefore, I had my prophylaxis done first. Afterwards, I needed to have my teeth x-rayed so Dra. Carla will know the severity of the wisdom tooth that needs to be removed. Quality work starts with the right tools and facilities right? That is why in Affinity Dental Clinic-Alabang, they have invested in the latest dental equipment/s to provide us with the highest quality and most comfortable dental experience possible.

Everything was doing quite well! Until, it's time for my wisdom tooth extraction to commence (whoaaa.. there, Patty).

Look at me... I'm all suited up and ready for the big fight (haha kidding)!

That is my mother right there, relaxing and patiently waiting for me (awww!).

I just wanted to share to you how my x-ray results looked like.

Now, that we are all ready. The tools are already prepared. Therefore, I am all set for the surgery to initiate. Dra. Carla and her assistant made sure that I am comfortable and relaxed (I so love the whole team). They made me feel like a baby again, with their comforting words and interpersonal skills.

Upon hearing the words, shall we begin? I prayed to God and called my guardian angels to help, protect and to allow this procedure to be successful.

Then back to watching Meet the Fockers, again (haha)!

Procedure for the Whole Wisdom Tooth Extraction:

1. Before having my wisdom tooth removed, I was given an injection of local anaesthetic to numb the tooth and surrounding area.

2. Since, the tooth has already come out of my gums. There's no need for a small incision for it. Dra. Carla, asked me if I felt some pressure just before the tooth is removed. She explained that she just needs to widen the tooth socket by rocking the tooth back and forth before taking it out (I'm like.... doing thumbs up, since I couldn't talk).

3.) And just, like that my wisdom tooth has been extracted (thank goodness!). I was in shock, because I couldn't believe that in just a blink of an eye it has been easily removed. Nonetheless, I felt really relieved and happy about it. That it didn't take for more than what I've been expecting.

4.) After the surgery, dissolving stitches are used to seal the gum.

5.) Viola! It's all done. Lastly, Dra. Carla placed a gauze over the site of the extraction and asked me to keep pressure on it by biting my jaws together for up to an hour. This is to allow a blood clot to form in the empty tooth socket. Blood clots are part of the healing process.

After everything that they did to me, they again made sure that I was still in good condition. They have comforted me by saying that I'm such a strong and brave woman (hooray!). Then, have clearly explained the post care treatments that I needed to do for my fast recovery. Before, the whole team and I parted our ways. Dra. Carla, gave me prescriptions to what pills I should take if pain still persists due to my post surgery.

I cannot leave the clinic, ofcourse without a photo op of the lovely dentist who took care of me. That is Dra. Carla Dimacuha right there!

And, the whole team. Please excuse my post surgery face (huhu). I have a gauze in between my jaws.

Ignoring dental problems allows them time to spread and become more serious. Proper care of your teeth and gums will keep them healthier your whole life.

I, for sure will be coming back to this dental clinic not just because Dra. Carla needs to remove my suture and to check how my gums has healed after seven days. But, as this clinic will definitely be my dental health's next home.

Your smile is your most prominent facial feature and an important part of first impressions. People will likely to notice a person’s smile when they meet them for the first time. A bright, beautiful and healthy smile can do wonders for your self-esteem. Even a subtle change can make a drastic difference in the way you look and feel.

You have probably heard the saying “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure”. Visiting your dentist twice a year will help make your teeth healthy, but can also save you money and time in the long run.

So.... consider scheduling an appointment with Affinity Dental Clinics, now. And I promise you, that you won't regret your visit. You'll even thank me for sure!

 

For more information/questions links are provided down below:

 

bottom of page